RideLondon-Surrey Traditional: Pascal Ackermann beats Elia Viviani in dash end

RideLondon-Surrey Traditional: Pascal Ackermann beats Elia Viviani in dash end

Ackermann sprints to RideLondon-Surrey Traditional winGermany’s Pascal Ackermann surged previous his rivals to win the RideLondon-Surrey Traditional in a bunch dash end. The 24-year-old Bora-Hansgrohe rider kicked with 200m to go on the Mall to carry off Italy’s Elia Viviani and win in 4 hours 20 minutes 11 seconds. Viviani’s compatriot Giacomo Nizzolo completed third and Britain’s Mark Cavendish 12th. The 183km race got here all the way down to a dash end after a five-man break was caught with 6km remaining. Ackermann gained the second stage of the Criterium du Dauphine in June. “It was a tremendous job with how the group introduced me again in the long run. I crashed in the midst of the race however got here again,” he advised BBC Sport. “I spoke to the group yesterday and advised them I used to be in actually good condition and we did it. I’m actually proud.” The German street race champion timed his effort up the within to perfection as Fast-Step Flooring rider Viviani ran out of gasoline. A breakaway group containing Bahrain-Merida riders Valerio Agnoli and Manuele Boaro stayed clear till the ultimate levels. Cavendish stayed close to the entrance of the peloton all through, flanked by his Dimension Information team-mates, however because the dash trains assembled on the Mall he was too far again to affect the end result. The RideLondon-Surrey Traditional – billed because the world’s richest one-day race with a complete prize fund of 100,000 euros (£89,000) – was awarded top-tier World Tour standing in 2016. Race outcome 1. Pascal Akermann (Ger/Bora-Hansgrohe) 4hrs 20minutes 11secs 2. Elia Viviani (Ita/Fast-Step Flooring) similar time 3. Giacomo Nizzolo (Ita/Trek-Segafredo) 4. Ivan Garcia Cortina (Spa/Bahrain-Merida) 5. Simone Consonni (Ita/UAE Crew Emirates) 6. Phil Bauhaus (Ger/Crew Sunweb) 7. Jean-Pierre Drucker (Fra/BMC Racing) 8. Andre Greipel (Ger/Lotto Soudal) 9. Jonas Koch (Ger/CCC Sprandi Polkowice) 10. Rudy Barbier (Fra/AG2R La Mondiale)

Previous ArticleNext Article
Harry Smith is the Bestselling author of 6 novels. He lives in Manchester, England with “the wife,” “the kids,” “the dog,” “that cat,” and he occasionally wears pants.

Leave a Reply

Notify of